L'essentiel

septembre 4, 2018

Foreign financial sanctions should be deductible in case they have no equivalent in Swiss law

For one year, the Association of Swiss Private Banks (ASPB) has supported the full deduction of foreign sanctions. In the meantime, the Council of States refused this solution, while noting that a middle way should be found between full deduction and absence of deduction. The proposition of the Economic affairs and Taxation Committees of the national Council goes in that direction. The ASPB supports this solution, but wishes a clarification concerning the damages.
discover (FR)
février 22, 2018

Prudential rules must not be identical for all banks

Regulation is a necessary evil to avoid a « wild » practice of certain professions. Many areas, however, suffer from an excess of rules, which obliges them to spend more and more time documenting the execution of their activity - at the expense of the latter. This administrative burden is especially heavy for banks, whereas the Swiss law imposes to respect the principle of proportionality, which means to be limited to what is necessary.
discover (FR)
novembre 28, 2017

Taxation: Switzerland is moving in the right direction

A withdrawal of the Matter Initiative seems likely if the Federal Council definitely abandons its criminal tax law reform. As for the withholding tax, a parliamentarian initiative plans to replace it by a tax levied by banks on interest income. The Association of Swiss Private Banks supports these developments, because the withholding tax hinders international competitiveness and can be improved by focusing on its safeguard function.
discover (FR)
septembre 4, 2017

Foreign financial sanctions must be deductible in Switzerland

At the end of 2016, the Federal Council sent to the Swiss Parliament a draft federal law about the tax treatment of financial penalties. This draft is now in the hands of the Economic Affairs and Taxation Committee of the Council of States. The Association of Swiss Private Banks (ASPB) wants to shed light on the non-deductibility of penal sanctions. According to the ASPB, this measure can only have meaning in a purely Swiss context, since foreign penalties go against the Swiss legal system.
discover (FR)
février 27, 2017

AEoI: a last verification before its implementation!

Since January 1st, 2017, Swiss banks have started collecting tax data for 38 countries. The government proposes to add 41 new countries next year. Which corresponds to Swiss commitments. But an authorisation from Parliament should not exempt the government from verifying again the existence of a "level playing field" and the confidentiality of information before sending client data in September 2019.
discover (FR)
décembre 2, 2016

Counterproposal to the Matter initiative: the paragraph 6 must be removed

The paragraph 6 of the counterproposal allows a bank, with the client’s permission, to disclose his information to the tax authorities. Many banks will then only accept clients who provide this authorisation. While the paragraph 6 is meant to avoid the automatic exchange of information in Switzerland, it will enable it. To be consistent, this paragraph must be removed.
discover (FR)
septembre 14, 2016

FinSA and FinIA shall strengthen the Swiss financial centre

The access to foreign financial markets is vital to a country with a solid financial centre. FinSA and FinIA bring Switzerland closer to that market access. The latest proposals of the independent asset managers point in the right direction.
discover (FR)
février 24, 2016

Switzerland needs a consistent taxation system

Rarely has an issue of such significance been put to the vote, while merely asking for the current situation to be maintained. The initiative "Yes to the protection of privacy", as well as its direct counter-proposal, aim to inscribe in the constitution the current law on tax offences. It is up to the Swiss people to determine the future of banking secrecy for Swiss residents. However, a refusal of the status quo would send a strong signal in favour of further weakening. In any case, Switzerland needs a consistent taxation system.
discover (FR)
novembre 27, 2015

Private Banks want to contribute to Switzerland's quality of life

The banking sector represents approximately 6% of the Swiss GPD and more than 8% of the overall tax income of the country. In order to maintain these revenues, the banks should be given the opportunity to grow domestically.
discover (FR)
août 25, 2015

Weissgeldstrategie: Parliament has better to do than staking laws like Lego

The new draft proposed by the Federal Council to once more revise the Anti-Money LaunderingAct (AMLA) is useless for Switzerland and harmful for its financial centre. Fortunately, the competent commission of the National Council saw through that.
discover (FR)
juin 12, 2015

Automatic exchange of information: why such haste?

The agreement with Australia should not be executed at once. Parliament should ponder the reasonableness of granting an automatic exchange of information to Australia, or any other country outside the EU, before other important financial centres have pledged the same.
discover (FR)
février 1, 2015

FINMA and its regulatory and supervisory activities

The Federal Council has been mandated to draft a report about FINMA by March 2015. This report, entitled “FINMA and its regulatory and supervisory activities”, was published on December 18, 2014. The private banks worry about the Federal Council’s refusal to open discussions on the parliamentary initiative Lüscher.
discover (FR)
septembre 2, 2014

Automatic exchange of information: a reality to harness

The time has come to implement the standard prepared by the OECD. On May 6, 2014, Switzerland announced its willingness to adopt this new standard, along with 65 other countries. It is now up to Parliament to ensure that Switzerland coordinates its position with the other important financial centres instead of positioning itself as the most diligent country to automatically exchange information.
discover (FR)
ARCHIVES

Annual reports

Annual Report 2017

The Association of Swiss Private Banks (ASPB) published its 2017 Annual Report today. In the report, the ASPB reviews and analyses developments between April 2017 and March 2018 which affect the various issues it monitors. Positive changes over the past year include the loosening of certain regulations by FINMA, the adoption of a mechanism to safeguard data privacy in the context of the automatic exchange of information, and the active promotion of the Swiss Financial Centre. Nevertheless, a number of challenges remain, from improving market access to implementing pragmatic international standards and a stable and competitive fiscal framework.
Order
printed version
Press release (EN) Rapport annuel 2017 (FR) Jahresbericht 2017 (DE)

Annual report 2016

The Annual Report 2016 published by the Association of Swiss Private Banks (ASPB) reviews and analyses recent developments in the various issues it monitors and for which it advocates. Switzerland's efforts to adapt its financial regulations are starting to bear fruit, allowing the country to draw a line under its image as a tax haven. For Swiss private banks, the priorities are market access, the promotion of the Swiss financial centre and a sensible implementation of international standards.
Order
printed version
download

Annual report 2015

The Annual Report 2015 published by the Association of Swiss Private Banks (ASPB) discusses events that influenced the key issues addressed by the ASPB throughout the year to the end of April 2016. This includes market access, the implementation of automatic exchange of tax information and adjustments to the anti-money laundering laws. In a highly interconnected world, Switzerland needs to ensure a level playing field for all financial services providers while refraining from any "Swiss finish".
Order
printed version
download

Annual report 2014

The Annual Report 2015 published by the Association of Swiss Private Banks (ASPB) discusses events that influenced the key issues addressed by the ASPB throughout the year to the end of April 2016. This includes market access, the implementation of automatic exchange of tax information and adjustments to the anti-money laundering laws. In a highly interconnected world, Switzerland needs to ensure a level playing field for all financial services providers while refraining from any "Swiss finish".
Order
printed version
download

Agenda

janvier 16, 2019

Press conference 2019, Bern

L'essentiel

4 septembre 2018

Les sanctions financières prononcées à l’étranger doivent être déductibles si elles n’ont pas leur équivalent en droit suisse

Il y a un an, l’Association de Banques Privées Suisses (ABPS) défendait la pleine déductibilité des amendes étrangères. Depuis, le Conseil des Etats a refusé une telle solution, tout en relevant qu’un juste milieu entre pleine déduction et absence de déduction devait être trouvé. La proposition de la majorité de la CER-N va dans ce sens. L’ABPS soutient cette solution, tout en souhaitant une précision au sujet des dommages-intérêts.
discover
22 février 2018

Les règles prudentielles ne doivent pas être identiques pour toutes les banques

La réglementation est un mal nécessaire pour éviter l’exercice « sauvage » de certaines professions. Nombre de secteurs économiques souffrent cependant d’un excès de règles, qui obligent à passer un temps toujours plus important à documenter le déroulement de l’activité – au détriment de celle-ci. Ce fardeau administratif est spécialement lourd au sein des banques, alors que le droit suisse impose de respecter le principe de proportionnalité, à savoir de se limiter au nécessaire.
discover
28 novembre 2017

Fiscalité : la Suisse va dans la bonne direction

Il apparaît probable que l’initiative Matter sera retirée si le Conseil fédéral  renonce définitivement à la réforme du droit pénal fiscal. Quant à l’impôt anticipé, une initiative parlementaire prévoit de le remplacer par un impôt prélevé par les banques pour les revenus d’intérêts. L’Association de Banques Privées Suisses voit ces développements d’un bon œil. Car l’impôt anticipé est un obstacle à la compétitivité internationale des banques suisses et peut être amélioré en se concentrant sur sa fonction de garantie.
discover
4 septembre 2017

Les sanctions financières étrangères doivent être déductibles en Suisse

Fin 2016, le Conseil fédéral a envoyé au Parlement un projet de loi fédérale sur le traitement fiscal des sanctions financières. Ce projet est entre les mains de la Commission de l’économie et des redevances du Conseil des Etats. L’Association de Banques Privées Suisses (ABPS) souhaite apporter un éclairage sur la non-déductibilité des sanctions à caractère pénal. Selon elle, cette mesure ne peut avoir de sens que dans un contexte helvético-suisse. En effet, les amendes étrangères sont contraires à l’ordre juridique suisse.
discover
27 février 2017

EAR: une dernière vérification avant sa mise en oeuvre!

Depuis le 1er janvier 2017, les banques collectent des données fiscales pour 38 pays. Le gouvernement propose d’en rajouter 41 autres l’année prochaine. Cela correspond aux engagements de la Suisse. Mais l’autorisation du Parlement ne doit pas dispenser le gouvernement de vérifier à nouveau l’existence d’un « level playing field » et la confidentialité des données avant de les envoyer en septembre 2019.
discover
2 décembre 2016

Contre-projet à l’initiative Matter : il faut supprimer l’alinéa 6

L’alinéa 6 du contre-projet permet à une banque, avec l’autorisation de son client, de divulguer ses données au fisc suisse. Nombre de banques n’accepteront alors que des clients qui fournissent cette autorisation. Tandis que l’alinéa 6 est censé éviter un échange automatique en Suisse, il le rend possible. Pour être cohérent, cet alinéa doit être supprimé.
discover
14 septembre 2016

La LSFin et la LEFin vont renforcer la place financière suisse

L'accès aux marchés étrangers des services financiers est capital pour un pays qui dispose d'une place financière forte. Avec la LSFin et la LEFin, la Suisse s'en rapproche. Les gérants indépendants ont fait des propositions récentes qui vont dans la bonne direction.
discover
24 février 2016

La Suisse a besoin d'un système fiscal cohérent

Rarement une votation aura autant de sens tout en ne demandant rien d’autre que ce qui existe déjà. L’initiative «Oui à la protection de la sphère privée», ou son éventuel contreprojet direct, ne veulent en effet que graver dans le marbre constitutionnel la loi actuelle en matière fiscale pénale. Il revient au peuple de se prononcer sur l’avenir du secret bancaire pour les clients qui vivent en Suisse. Mais refuser le statu quo serait un signal fort en faveur de son affaiblissement. Quoi qu'il en soit, la Suisse a surtout besoin d'un système fiscal cohérent.
discover
27 novembre 2015

Les banques privées veulent contribuer à la qualité de vie en Suisse

Le secteur bancaire représente environ 6% du PIB suisse et plus de 8% des recettes fiscales globales du pays. Pour que ces recettes, et les prestations  qu’elles financent, ne disparaissent pas, il est essentiel que les banques puissent se développer sur le territoire national. Pour y parvenir, elles comptent sur le Parlement pour bâtir des règles justes, efficaces et stables, qui préservent la diversité du paysage bancaire domestique.
discover
25 août 2015

Weissgeldstrategie: le Parlement a mieux à faire que d'empiler les lois comme des Lego

La nouvelle proposition du Conseil fédéral visant à réviser la Loi sur le blanchiment d’argent (LBA) est inutile pour la Suisse et néfaste pour sa place financière. Heureusement, la commission compétente du Conseil national l’a compris.
discover
12 juin 2015

Echange automatique de renseignements: pourquoi tant de hâte?

L'accord avec l'Australie ne doit pas être ratifié tout de suite. Le Parlement doit se demander s’il est raisonnable d’accorder l’EAR à l’Australie ou à un autre pays hors UE avant que les autres places financières importantes du monde s’y soient aussi engagées.
discover
1 février 2015

La FINMA et son activité de réglementation et de surveillance

Le Conseil fédéral a été chargé d’établir, jusqu’à mars 2015, un rapport consacré à la FINMA. Celui-ci a été publié le 18 décembre 2014 sous le titre « La FINMA et son activité de réglementation et de surveillance ».Les banques privées s’inquiètent du refus du Conseil fédéral d’entrer en matière sur l'initiative parlementaire Lüscher.
discover
2 septembre 2014

Echange automatique de renseignements: une réalité à maîtriser

Le temps est venu de mettre en oeuvre le standard préparé par l'OCDE. Le 6 mai 2014, la Suisse a annoncé sa volonté d'adopter le nouveau standard parallèlement à 65 autres pays. Il revient désormais au Parlement de s'assurer que la Suisse se coordonne avec les autres places financières importantes au lieu de se profiler comme le pays le plus diligent du monde en matière d'échange automatique de renseignements.
discover
ARCHIVES

Annual reports

Rapport annuel 2017

L’Association de Banques Privées Suisses (ABPS) publie ce jour son rapport annuel 2017. Il passe en revue et analyse les principaux événements qui ont influencé les dossiers suivis par l’ABPS entre avril 2017 et mars 2018. Parmi les évolutions positives figurent l'assouplissement de certaines exigences de la FINMA, le mécanisme de contrôle sur la confidentialité des données dans le cadre de l'échange automatique de renseignements et la promotion active de la place financière suisse. Il reste cependant des défis à relever, comme l'amélioration de l'accès au marché, la mise en œuvre pragmatique des normes internationales et un cadre fiscal stable et compétitif.
Order
printed version
Communiqué de presse Rapport annuel 2017

Rapport annuel 2016

Le rapport annuel 2016 de l'Association de Banques Privées Suisses passe en revue et analyse les développements qui ont influencé les dossiers suivis et défendus par l’ABPS. Les efforts consentis par la Suisse pour adapter sa réglementation financière portent leurs premiers fruits, tandis que notre pays veut tirer un trait sur son image de paradis fiscal. Pour les banques privées suisses, les priorités sont l’accès au marché, la promotion de la place financière suisse et la mise en œuvre raisonnée des standards internationaux.
Order
printed version
download

Rapport annuel 2015

Le rapport annuel 2015 de l'Association de Banques Privées Suisses passe en revue et analyse les développements qui ont influencé jusqu’à fin avril 2016 les dossiers suivis et défendus par l’ABPS. Parmi eux, les plus marquants sont l’accès au marché, la mise en œuvre de l’échange de renseignements fiscaux et l’adaptation des règles contre le blanchiment d’argent. Dans un monde interconnecté, la Suisse doit s’assurer de conditions équitables de concurrence, et résister à la tentation d’un « Swiss finish ».
Order
printed version
download

Rapport annuel 2014

Le rapport annuel 2014 livre un aperçu des développements qui ont marqué, au cours des mois allant jusqu'à mai 2014, les principaux dossiers suivis par l'Association de Banques Privées Suisses. Cette période a été marquée par de nombreux événements ainsi que par une activité intense autour de la stratégie à adopter pour le futur de la place financière suisse. Le lecteur y trouvera un recueil des faits les plus saillants de 2014, ainsi que l'opinion et la position de l'ABPS concernant les lois et réglementations les plus récentes dans la mesure où elles affectent son coeur de métier, c'est-à-dire la gestion de fortune privée et institutionnelle.
Order
printed version
download

Agenda

16 janvier 2019

Conférence de presse 2019, Berne